Skip to content
March 27, 2005 / erin

Purling Queen

Alright so I’m probably not proficient enough at purling to start calling myself the Queen of it or anything but I have “Dancing Queen” stuck in my head for no good reason sooo…. But thanks to the wonderful teachings of Erin I am no longer destined to just knit items in garter stitch… Not that there would be anything WRONG with that.

I’m so amazed at how much learning to purl and also knitting an entire weekend with Erin has opened my eyes up to things. I swear that woman is my confidence. When she’s not around I think washcloths are the only thing I can knit… But when she is around I get all kinds of notions. We started knitting a pair of fuzzy feet together. Well we’re each knitting a pair so she’s slowed way down so I can keep up with her (in my slight defense she’s knitting a pair for her size 5 feet and I’m knitting a pair for my dad’s sized 10 1/2 men’s feet). Granted I haven’t knit a stitch on them since she left but that’s because we didn’t get a chance for her to teach me the slip stitch. Oh well time for that the next time I wander out her way.

I have started my very first project using a pattern all by myself… Yeah it’s nothing too crazy so don’t get too proud of me yet but… It’s the Big Bad Baby Blanket from the first Stitch ‘N Bitch. I’m making it for my niece Sydney because the blanket plan I had started out with just was NOT doing it for me. And not doing it for me evidently means it will forever remain at the VERY bottom of my knitting pile… Making this be the blankie she’ll get for her high school or college graduation.
(Alright I attempted to post an adorable picture here of my niece but ImageVenue apparently doesn’t like me so, sorry, you’ll just have to trust me that she is freaking adorable… So cute I can’t believe we’re related). Anyway I’m not using the yarn from the pattern because I have some Bernat Denim yarn in purple that I was going to use on the other plan but think it will work nicely here… That and purple is Sydney’s favorite color. I’m almost a fourth of the way done. It’s going to be a little small for her to use as a blanket (she’s 2) but I’m thinking it can be more like a blankie. See I have a blankie that my mom made for me when I was 4 for taking naps in preschool. I still have it and it’s one of my most treasured possessions. Since my mom isn’t here to make one for Sydney I decided to take it upon myself to do it. Man, I hope she likes it.

And if all goes well I might make one or two more for some of the moms-to-be in my life. I might use the yarn from the pattern on one of them (that is if I can find it and it doesn’t cost and arm and a leg). I heard from pregnant friend #3 (Kim) the other day, they just found out she’s having a girl. She’s so excited. Her two younger sisters both have little boys and while Kim was thrilled with being an aunt she was kind of bummed that she, as oldest, didn’t get to be the first one married or the first one to have a baby. But she does get to be the first one to have a girl so…. But she did make me promise that I wouldn’t get her little one anything pink (Kim feels the same way I do about pink and figures she’ll get plenty from other people). I know that Kim likes purple but I’m not sure I can handle making another purple blanket after this one… We shall see. Kim and her husband haven’t agreed on a name yet, she likes Olivia but he’s not too sure. I’m sure whatever they decide will be wonderful. Kim’s due between June 3rd and June 10th. I think that might actually then make her pregnant friend #2 (because I think Stephanie might be due after her) but I’m sure she doesn’t mind me having them out of order. 🙂

OOOOOO In other news…. I was at Barnes & Noble yesterday and all my stalking of their knitting section has paid off!!! They got Stephanie’s bookbookbook in on Friday. I snatched myself up a copy and highly recommend that y’all do the same ASAP. I’m reading it while knitting, well attempting to, I’m still not real great at that yet. I’m hoping Erin’s copy either got to her before she left for her in-laws or it will be waiting for her upon her return. She was logical and preordered it. I just don’t have the patience for that kind of stuff. I want it NOW (further proof that I’m the youngest in my family). So I just stalked Barnes & Noble (the only local bookstore) until they got it in.

I hope you all pardon my lack of photos… As previously mentioned Imagevenue is apparently not my friend lately for those few photos I have on my computer. I’m hoping to settle on the kind of digital camera I want so that I can snatch it up when it goes on sale or shows up on Overstock (even though the woman on those commercials annoys me to no end) or some such place. My problem is I either don’t know enough about the features to know if they are worthwhile or I want the camera to do everything but not cost an arm and a leg. Yup, that’s right, kids, I want it all (hey, I’m a product of the 80’s… don’t blame me, blame the times 😉 ). I was toying with the idea of getting a camera phone and calling it good but those bother me on general principle. Ah, the debate continues.

Well, for those of you that celebrate, I hope you are all having a wonderful Easter. Thus far I’ve done my share… I made deviled eggs for the first time (who knew they were so stinkin’ easy… except for the fact that my apartment now smells like eggs) and so now I’m just wanting for Nathan to get here with the lambchops. YUM.

Leave a Reply

