Skip to content
October 29, 2005 / erin

Tada!

Well, I’ve determined the one advantage to The Boy being sick… I get to use the computer while he naps (that nearly makes up for all the complaining… boys, I tell ya… ;))

Wow so much to catch up on… πŸ™‚ Sorry there will probably be no links or pictures in this post. The Boy has an PowerBook and for as much as he loves Apples I’m a little retarded on them so yeah… He keeps telling me that they are superior computers and other assorted crap but essentially I want something that works and that I understand. He’s not exactly the teaching type (if I ask how to do something he does it rather than tell me how to do it so I have to keep asking everytime I want to do it… ah such is life). I was supposed to get my dad’s old work Dell laptop when his new one came in but that is apparently not in the cards as the old computer died at the same time the IT department got the new one in…. rats. So I get to keep “sharing” with Cory.

In knitting news… I’ve decided to kill myself with knitting for the holidays. I have two baby blankets that I want to finish (I dropped a stitch on one about 10 rows back so that’s gotten thrown back into the ERIN HELP pile until I make it to IN). I have a baby sweater for a coworker’s little one (the coworker is due today) it’s my first actual garment so I’m terrified and therefore knitting VERY slowly on it. Then I have at least 5 scarves…. Yeah I’m nuts. Thankfully scarves are kind of a do anytime go with anywhere kind of knitting project. I can decide if the Boy gets anything handknit from me for the holidays. Potentially a hat πŸ™‚ I would love to make him a sweater but with the whole curse thing I’d rather not push it. And I would love to make my dad something but I don’t have a clue what. I made him a scarf last year in Harley colors that he loves and really my options are limited after that because, well, I just don’t have a lot of confidence in my ability to make anything else. It doesn’t help that I have a quarter of a fuzzy foot created for him. Something you should all know about your friend Carma, if the going gets tough Carma stops. Yeah, not so much a trait I’m particularly proud of but there it is.

Speaking of the holidays… the stress of that time of year has already started to press upon me. My dad, bless his heart, decided that I, the baby of the family, should make the plans for this year’s festivities. So that means I will be meeting my father at my oldest brother’s house in Indiana for Thanksgiving (it’s essentially halfway for both of us) and then I’m flying to dear old Dad’s for Christmas. As it stands now the Boy will meet the family at my neice’s birthday party (also in Indiana) in early December. I thought I would be nice and have him meet there when I go out there and stay with Erin rather than make him meet the family the same weekend we would have to share the living room with my Dad. πŸ™‚

But, honestly, please tell me I’m not the only one out there that is not a HUGE fan of the holidays? It’s not that I don’t like them I love that I get to spend time with the fam and everything but it seems like all this stress and pressure for TWO days. But that could just be me… πŸ™‚ Or the fact that I am apparently “lucky” enough to be in one of those families where it is IMPOSSIBLE to please everyone.

Wow I’m all full of piss and vinegar today aren’t I? Perhaps I should just go back to not posting, eh?

I do have some good news though. The Boy is building a house. Well, right now he’s getting ready to build a garage with an apartment loft (where he can live while building the house). And by him building a house I literally mean once the foundation is poured it’s all him, or rather all us. It’s actually really interesting and I’m going to learn a TON (what does Carma know about most construction stuff? Yeah, buppkiss). This morning we went out to the land and the trench for the foundation of the garage has been dug! WOOHOO! Now if they could just get the land contracts all squared away and signed we might have a foundation next week. Yup, that means building in the winter…brrr. Any suggestions for warm outerwear? I have a thermal lined hooded sweatshirt that is all ready to go. I wanted to by the Boy one but the Farm & Fleet out here changed the brand that they carry and the ones they have now don’t feel as warm. And that same Farm & Fleet carries Carhart stuff but typically the smallest size they have is a Large. Neither me nor the Boy fits into a Men’s Large.

(As an aside here you should all take amusement in the fact that I went from dating a guy that was 6’9″ and easily 350 to dating a guy that is perhaps 5’8″ and MAYBE 165… I’m 5’3″ and you don’t need to know the weight ;))

Ok I think that’s enough for now, at least when I don’t feel like linking or posting pictures. πŸ™‚ I tend to think I should only post if I have something important or profound to say (hence the irregular posting) but hopefully I’ll get over that one soon. πŸ™‚

Erin, I hope your trip was still a go and that everything is going as well as can be expected. I hope Nate had a fabulous 30th πŸ™‚ We’ll all be there soon.

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

