Skip to content
January 16, 2007 / erin

There and back

I hate snow.  I really do.  I have no love for winter.  My birthday’s in winter.  Our anniversary is in winter. but really If I could transplant to summer, I would.  so Imagine my surprise, when on our trip back home on Monday, I was positively giddy when it started snowing.  So to revise, snow ain’t so bad.

We had a last minute, family emergency trip to Ohio this weekend.  My FIL was rushed to the hospital from work on Friday.  He’s home now, and doing fine.  he’ll just have a few prescriptions and lifestyle changes to deal with.  For a while there we were all on edge though.

The only knitting I did was on my niece’s shawl, which I finished and gave to her while we were there, so I wouldn’t have to ship it.  It was the flower basket shawl made with shine sport in silver sage.  No picture, but maybe I’ll get a picture of her wearing it in a few weeks.

Step mom’s socks were officially my socks on Friday, when we went to lunch, and I asked her what she wanted for her birthday.  She told me a land’s end tote bag that she can take on her chaperoning trips with the swing choir.  I came home ordered it, and then pitied her a little.  chaperoning high school kids on overnight bus trips.  I think i might rather chew off my own arm.

So, today’s my day to catch up on things planned for this last weekend.  Jennifer, your birthday gift will be late.  Sorry.

4 Comments

  1. Elle Kasey / Jan 16 2007 4:52 PM

    I am jealous that you saw snow because I am that minority walking around grumpy lately because temps have been above normal (waaay above) in D.C. I’ll trade you my hot days for your cold ones!

  2. jen / Jan 16 2007 11:40 PM

    i’ll gladly package up all this damn show and send it to d.c.
    stupid cold, strong wind blowing ice cold snow in my face. I gave up trying to go anywhere today. Not even to the post office.
    But the headwrap i YOIKED from you kept my head warm. mmmm warm ears.
    well then you can give your gift to me near your b-day and we can open presents together! (it’s the thought that counts anyways, hell the mere fact that you balled auntie ruth’s yarn) is gift alone. altho i will gladly eat a bag of say YOUR PRETZELS!)
    kidding!
    i’ll shut up now.
    glad y’all are back unscathed and ok.

  3. Lesa / Jan 17 2007 10:48 PM

    Not happy about the snow. Nope, not at all. Cold,wet, keeping me home from work. Brrrrrr

  4. Carma / Jan 19 2007 9:24 PM

    I hope Emmitt (sp?) is doing better…

Comments are closed.

