Skip to content
January 22, 2007 / erin

6 years

Today, Nate and I celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. It seems impossible it’s been that long, but at the same time it seems like it should be longer. Nate and I have done, and been through quite a lot in those 6 years.  I love him more today then the day we sort of got engaged.

Well, see, he never really asked me to marry him. Well, let me clarify. He sort of asked me,twice, but at the time we had just found out I was pregnant. I said no. They don’t count.

Then he just assumed we would get married. He assumed right up until January 20th, when it occurred to him that we would need wedding bands.

The conversation went something like this:

"Come on, we need to go shopping."

"No."

"We need to buy rings.  Hopefully we’ll have them in time."

"No"

"Are you feeling OK?"

(Looking at him like he’s a dolt, because I have only been violently ill for the last month.  Pregnancy bites)"Actually, I think I’m OK."

"Well, come on. Let’s go."

"No."

"What?!"

"You haven’t asked me If I wanted to marry you. You’ve just been assuming that I will."

"So,…You won’t leave now with me because I haven’t asked you to marry me?"

"Uh-huh."

"Uh…Will you marry me?"

"I’ll get my purse."

Fast forward through a horrible shopping trip, (That is a whole other story.) to the wonderful day that we eloped.  Sorry I don’t have any pictures handy.(There are pictures around here somewhere.) Give me a break, we eloped. The best I can do is this.
Vaug11a

It was taken the in May,2001, right after we moved into this house.

We’ve been through good, bad and a heck of a lot in between, but I wouldn’t trade a day of it for anything.

Happy Anniversary, Nate.

7 Comments

  1. Stephanie / Jan 22 2007 10:12 AM

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! Having had my share of “the bad” with Dave I know that it makes “the good” all that much more special! I wish you guys many more years of the good, the bad, and the in between!

  2. jen / Jan 22 2007 11:49 AM

    awww man how freekin’ cute are the two of you!
    and miss kitty too.
    happy anniversary to you and nate. i hope y’all have many many more.

  3. Lesa / Jan 22 2007 6:20 PM

    Aww, don’t you two look cute?! Happy 6 years. 6 months will be my 20th. Yikes!

  4. wendy / Jan 22 2007 9:35 PM

    HAPPY HAPPY!!!

  5. Carol / Jan 23 2007 6:22 AM

    Happy Anniversary! You two look really good together! Oooopps 3 – Not to exclude the baby, but I know how cats can get;)

  6. kayt / Jan 23 2007 8:17 AM

    Congrats on your years of love! I hope and wish for many many more for the two of you!

  7. carma / Jan 26 2007 12:51 PM

    *sniff*
    Happy Anniversary, you crazy kids… : )

Comments are closed.

