Skip to content
February 24, 2007 / erin

Iced in…

I’m going to have to try to get some pictures to show you all… At last measure we were up to about an inch of ice. It’s just started to snow on top of all of it, the Schnack (our local weather guy) says we’re supposed to get anywhere from 6-12 inches of snow.

Engrid, my VW, is encased in solid ice.

It took The Boy and I an hour to get from my apartment to his parents place this morning… A trip of about 15 miles. Needless to say our previously planned trip to Ames to see The Boy’s sister was postponed to another weekend.

And needless to say The Boy, his parents, and I have all been in their house together all day…. Without yarn… And I’ll be a guest in their house all night as well… Without yarn or pjs. : (

Good times. : )

As it looks right now I might have to call into work iced in Monday morning. Because I literally might not be able to get from The Boy’s place to my house for (at the very least) work clothes and then back to work.

I HATE calling in to work. I just hate it, makes me feel all guilty and stuff. Even when I’m legitimately sick or, in this case, potentially iced in. Curse my half Catholic/ half Jewish genes.

Welp. that’s really all the news on the Iowa front. I did knit The Boy a scarf for Valentine’s Day… Maybe I’ll get him to model it for you all tomorrow.

I hope you all are warm and safe and not under a thick coating of ice. : )

4 Comments

  1. Becky in Iowa :O) / Feb 24 2007 9:12 PM

    I know I’m not liking this crappy weather. I only stuck my nose outside once today. I came back in and wrapped myself in another blanket. My mom warned me yesterday already to no even try to drive anywhere. I have a feeling that I’ll be staying in the house with my yarn for the next couple days.

  2. Suz / Feb 25 2007 2:17 AM

    It’s about 3:15am. The “weather” is just starting here. We have an advisory that supposedly starts at 4am today and goes to 4am tomorrow. Looks like it’s mostly due to be ice and a “wintry mix”. Ugh!
    So glad that today was “knitting group”, so i got out for a while and then Deb and i went to have a really yummu Mexican dinner. It’s looking like i’ll be stuck in for days, potentially. Ugh!
    Hope you make it home alright. Could you contact your “owl” and have it fly in some yarn for you? Ask the “MIL” if she has a sweater you could recycle and some bamboo scewers?? Just a thought.
    What were you thinking not packing an emergency project? You know that Murphy’s Law of Knitting states that when you have no spare time, your knitting will be with you and when you have tons of spare time you will have forgotten your knitting at home…or some such thing. LOL! 😉
    ~Suz~

  3. jen / Feb 25 2007 11:35 AM

    whoa..iced in. ew, be careful out there cara!
    we’re just wet and very very slushy out here.

  4. Carol / Feb 25 2007 6:13 PM

    Hang in there! Don’t feel too bad about work, the fact that you feel guilty says you’re a good employee;) Catholic and Jewish? Girl, you got the double whammy on guilt rations-poor baby!

Comments are closed.

