Skip to content
March 1, 2007 / erin

sooouuup!

This time of year, (Lent) always makes me a bit nostalgic for when I was a devout catholic, fasted and abstained from meat on Fridays.  Back in the day,I learned that ordering a taco from taco bell without the meat is just something the staff can’t wrap their heads around.  ah the late night fast food  advances astound.

I though I might share a meatless dish with you all who still observe it.  (I meant to take a photo the last time I made this, and I forgot.  sorry.)

Lentil apricot soup

  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/3 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1-1/2 cup dried lentils, rinsed
  • 5 cups of vegetable stock
  • 2 Tablespoons fresh lemon juice
  • 3 ripe plum tomatoes, peeled, seeded and chopped
  • 1/2 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. dried thyme
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Chop the garlic, onions, and apricots.
 

1. In a large  pot, heat the oil over medium heat. Add the onion, garlic, and dried apricots.  Sauté until the onion is translucent.
 

2. Add the lentils to the vegetable stock. Bring to a boil, then reduce the heat and simmer, covered, until the lentils are tender, about 30 minutes.

3. Stir in tomatoes, cumin, thyme, and salt and pepper. Simmer, covered for another 10 minutes.
 

4. Remove half the soup and puree it in a food processor or blender.
Return the puree to the pot and season with the lemon juice and salt
and pepper to taste.

2 Comments

  1. wendy / Mar 1 2007 12:21 PM

    Ever try to get a fast food place not to put meat or cheese on something…it’s not pretty.
    What type of lentils? The green ones or red?

  2. Jasmine / Mar 2 2007 12:39 PM

    hmm, I need to make soup this weekend (I usually make a pot every weekend in the winter for lunches along with a pot of some kind of beans) This would take care of both — having missed this the past two weekends I have been scrambling all week for lunches and after meeting dinners. I think I have everything at home, too. Thanks

Comments are closed.

