Skip to content
March 20, 2007 / erin

kitty and call out

So I received a call from the vet yesterday. See, when she removed kitty’s frostbitten ear she also discovered a tumor on that ear, which is why they took so much of Kitty’s ear.  She had the results of the tumor.  It was skin cancer. They removed it all. Apparently white cats are very prone to skin cancer on their ears and noses.  When they remove kitty’s stitches, they are going to look at her other ear,  to make sure it is fine, if not they’ll be removing some of that ear as well.

But here’s the thing.  The vet advises we keep kitty out of the sun.  Has anyone ever been successful at keeping a cat out of the warm sunbeam??

I am chugging along on the kitty pi, but I am quickly running out of coordinating colors.

Dsc02638

I have the glove part of the Broad street mitten done.  I decided to knit the mitten part separately and graft it on at the end, rather than trying to pick up the stitches on the back of the glove.

The string bag pattern is written out.  I would like to knit one before I post it just to check it out. (It’s been a while since I made one.)  If anyone would be interested in test knitting it, just let me know.(pinkerbell AT gmail DOT com)

I use dk weight cotton, or linen, or hemp, something non stretchy like that.  I’m going to say 100 grams although I don’t think it uses that much.  I cannot remember how much it actually does. This will be a free pattern when it’s ready. EDITED– my memory fails me  this bag takes at least 100 grams  mybe even slightly more.

4 Comments

  1. Suz / Mar 20 2007 1:36 PM

    I emailed you. 😉
    That’s some very colorful knitting there. Nope, can’t be in a bad mood wearing those, no way! 🙂
    ~Suz~

  2. Lesa / Mar 20 2007 3:16 PM

    keep a cat out of the sun? Good one!

  3. wendy / Mar 20 2007 9:29 PM

    I love the yarn for your mittens…so cute!
    You could put tint on the windows. They even have clear tint that blocks the most harmful rays. Oh, and remember that the most harmful rays are around 11am to 4pm. I have alot of experience with skin cancer ;0)…lol, my familly is the white kitty kind.

  4. Carol / Mar 21 2007 8:47 AM

    Poor Kitty! Hope that’s all she had. The Broad Street Mitten looks great! The String Bag sounds intresting!

Comments are closed.

