Skip to content
April 23, 2007 / erin

Here we go again…

Because I have the pleasure of living in the state with the VERY FIRST caucus (Iowa) that means I also have the pleasure of seeing political commercials for the 2008 Presidential campaign RIGHT NOT. Man, am I going to be sick of it all by November of NEXT year. Oy. Now granted it is a bit of a change from living in NWI where nearly all the political mishmash was for candidates in IL. I could tell you all about people running for Senate in IL but pretty much nothing about the people running in IN. The region & Cheesetown in particular wasn’t exactly a hotspot for those in Indy. (That reminds me anyone have ANY clue why Chesterton is called Cheesetown?) So I went from the NWI experience to literally living in a region that is a main campaign stop for Presidential candidates. John Edwards was here last weekend and Obama was here a couple weeks ago (Did I go see either? No, but that’s not the point). While I appreciate this experience and opportunity it kind of makes me feel like there is something out of balance with it all. Shouldn’t everyone have equal access without overloading some and underloading others?
Then again perhaps I’m just overly tired and trying to avoid paying bills and housework.
I am in SERIOUS need of some Spring Cleaning. I don’t need to just clean things up, I need to clean them OUT. I need some sentimental intervention. I have a tendency to assign sentimental value to EVERYTHING and after awhile it seems silly to get rid of something you’ve had for 47 years. When I first started getting ready to move to Iowa Erin was nice enough to help me clean stuff out. Like I said I’m a serious pack rat. We had a rule… If she had never seen an item in my closet on me it went. Let’s just say there was a lot of discussions and a lot of stuff went to Goodwill.  Sadly I need to make a lot more trips. I have a box of stuff to go (then again I’ve had that box sitting in my spare room for probablyl close to a year). I always have a tendency to need/want stuff right after I get rid of it. My mom had two sweaters, one was her high school sweater and the other was just a brown sweater. I had decided that I needed to get rid of one of them (mind you I’m the only daughter so I literally inherited ALL of my mom’s, well, everything). I decided that I needed to keep my mom’s high school sweater. Now I would do anything to have the other one. Now you might ask why I didn’t just keep both because really what’s one more sweater. If you saw the ridiculous amount of CRAP I own you would realize how many times I’ve made that argument myself.
What can I say, I’m an anomaly.
On the knitting front. I have a LOT of "stash" yarn and NO clue what to do with it. I think if I try to knit another scarf I might end up hanging myself with it. I don’t yet trust myself to make something like a sweater. So I don’t have a clue what to make nor do I have any idea what I even could make with all of this yarn! Anyone have any suggestions as to where I might look?
Hey, erin, find a new hairdo yet? I got mine lobbed off last Friday… I’ve yet to tell my dad 😉 I’ll try to get Cory to take a pic so I can send it to you (I’m still looking at digital cameras). It’s another Halle inspired job. To be honest I think I like it but it’s taking me a little more time to get used to it because my hair had really gotten pretty long (for me) in the past 4 months. We shall see….

***Added later***
I have no idea why my formatting isn’t working. When I type this it looks much more pretty rather that one ginormous run on sentence. : (

3 Comments

  1. Cari / Apr 25 2007 12:00 AM

    Why shouldn’t Iowa get to decide who the President will be? Would you rather those crazies in Texas or Hawaii got to choose? Or us Minnesotans? Uffda, whoddya think would be pres then?

  2. carma / Apr 25 2007 7:22 AM

    Hey I’m COMPLETELY ok with Iowans deciding who the President is (heck, ANYONE but Minnesotans ;))… I just don’t want to hear about it for eleventy millions months before the election. 😉

  3. Cari / Apr 25 2007 11:56 AM

    It’s a high high price to pay to live in Iowa. (Do you hear me gloating? Sorry, I didn’t mean for that to happen. Actually, your post gave me nasty flashbacks…) 🙂

Comments are closed.

