Skip to content
August 5, 2007 / erin

Once Again…

… I’m in need of your help.

You may remember this dress…

1970s_dress

That now looks like this….

Img_1937

I’m planning on wearing this same dress to a wedding in September (the first of The Boy’s friend to get married).  Since the wedding is at 10:30 in the morning I’m thinking I might need some kind of wrap or shawl because I get cold pretty easily. I do have about 2 feet worth of the material from the bottom of the dress but I’m not sure I have the talent to do anything with it. I already made a small headband with it and let’s just say the attempt was nearly laughable.


I search Etsy for shawls and not surprisingly the one I found that I like is the same one Erin just bought to wear to a wedding. But I’m not sure if a crochet shawl will work with this type of dress.


I do have a potential solution. I have a fairly large silk shawl that was my mom’s that I have wanted to use forever but really haven’t had the occasion to and I’m really not a fan of the long fringe but I’m not sure if I’m yet ready to do away with the fringe. It’s probably from the same era as the dress (70’s) and it’s kind of a light cream with some darker beige large flowers embroidered on it (hello 70’s). Again I’m not sure if that will go with the whole dress. I’ll get a picture of it one of these days and get it on here for a general opinion.


All that is said…. Do any of you have any potential suggestions for shawls and where I could find one?


In other funny proof I live in Iowa news…


I live pretty close to the county fairgrounds. I can nearly see them from my apartment. The other night as I was getting ready to bed I was serenaded with the sounds of the Combine demolition Derby. Yeah I’m kind of disappointed that I didn’t go….

6 Comments

  1. Cari / Aug 6 2007 1:24 AM

    You KNOW I’m not giving you fashion advice.
    However, I cannot pass up the opportunity to say: YOU DIDN’T GO TO THE COMBINE DEMOLITION DERBY? WHAT KIND OF IOWAN ARE YOU?
    Clearly I need to move back there and further the brainwashing. 🙂
    Love ya dear…

  2. erin / Aug 6 2007 8:00 AM

    I got to Fort Branch Friday a bit later than i was hoping. I spent a good amount of time sitting on the porch listening the the cattle’s conversations. Until I saw something rather large move in the fallen down barn. Then I hauled ass inside.

  3. erin / Aug 6 2007 8:18 AM

    oh! I forgot my suggestion. How much fabric is left? If you have enough I would buddy up to val and see if she might help you. take the fabric with you to the fabric store and see if you can find some ribbon or trim to sew a trim on the fabric so I looks like an intended shawl and not just like you cut off the bottom of the dress. If there is not enough look for a sheer fabric that would go well, and well, basically the same thing. Maybe if you sweet talk Val she’ll go with and help you “design” it.

  4. Chrissy / Aug 6 2007 11:38 AM

    I love that dress. Sorry, I don’t have any shawl suggestions.

  5. Carol / Aug 8 2007 12:11 PM

    The dresslooks really nice! I wasn’t expecting a post so soon! Shawls? Um knit one? Yeah, yeah i know. I always scramble to buy one at the last minute too;)

  6. wendy / Aug 10 2007 2:28 PM

    I’m with Erin on the trim and you could use that hot iron fixative tape stuff(can’t remember the name, sorry.)or some fabric glue if you don’t wamt to sew the trim on.
    Good luck!

Comments are closed.

