Skip to content
October 10, 2007 / erin

Score!

So last weekend I went to a… a guess you could call it a thrift store with The Boy. We found some really sweet stools to put in the kitchen in the Lodge (I’ll try to remember to take a picture of them and post them). But here’s what I found for me….


Dscn0222


Dscn0223


Isn’t it purdy? (And isn’t that pretty 1970’s Shag?) A “clutch” probably isn’t my #1 preferred bag but I thought this was just gorgeous and I figure I can always use it in another larger bag and for more “formal” occasions where appropriate (Yeah yeah yeah, Erin, stop laughing).


In other news…. My fear leading me to throw items into my freeze MAY have been unfounded (or at least that’s what I’m telling myself for my own sanity).


Here’s what happened…. The morning of the wedding a couple Saturdays ago I was trying to find some kind of wrap or bit of warm to wrap myself up in because it was pretty chilly the morning of the service (which again took place at 10:30 AM). I have a light blue pashmina that I was thinking about putting in the running. I pulled the pashmina out of my closet only to find a series of small holes in it. Needless to say, much to The Boy’s shock, I let out a little yelp of fear and ran for the freezer. I didn’t have any real chance to be terribly vigilant about the whole thing because The Boy was filming the wedding for his friends and somehow I don’t think they would really understand my cries of… THE WOOL!!!


So thankfully The Boy was very levelheaded that early in the morning. He suggested we double check the closet for any other wool items (all the while I’ve thrown myself in front of the closet door begging him not to open it again… whimpering the wool!!! the whole time), then we “sealed” the closet with a towel across the bottom.


A couple days later (‘De Nile… it’s not just a river in Egypt) I remembered that my mom’s good dress wool coat was in that same closet. I got out of bed in the dead of night to check it… And it was fine.


So now I don’t know if I have a “problem” or not. Because really if I did why would they pass up a nice wool coat? But just to make sure I bought some cedar stuff today to put in that very closet. One can never be too sure when they live in a Wool Apartment.


In other less stressful news…. After two pretty intense weeks, and the last two days in particular, I have finally finished the entire Harry Potter series. Yeah…. I think I need a little time to completely process it. 🙂

3 Comments

  1. Carol / Oct 11 2007 12:34 PM

    OMG, How terrifying! Hope all is OK with that. The bag is a real find, very nice. I kept a couple of my mom’s like that. I love the beaded stuff!

  2. Suz / Oct 11 2007 2:55 PM

    OMG, the wool, no!!
    I have a bit of a funny for you…
    My Dad had a new house built in ’89 after his divorce. Shortly after we moved in, we kept smelling moth balls. It was clearly stronger in the living room area and it was soon determined that it was coming from the front hall closet. My Dad tore that closet apart looking for the source. He pulled up carpeting and even went into the attic to check above the closet. Hmmm. Nothing. It took weeks for him to finally locate the cause of the smell…
    Apparently while some of his clothing had been in storage at his parent’s house, my Grandma had shoved moth balls in any of his coat and suit pockets…just in case.
    How about some of the cedar balls or whatever you got, in the pockets of your mom’s coat, just in case. 😉

  3. erin / Oct 16 2007 8:52 AM

    I HATED the last chapter in the last book. I really need to get some cedar or lavendar, or something. As Nate put it, the house is full of “creepy-crawlies and flyers.”

Comments are closed.

