Skip to content
October 31, 2007 / erin

Happy Halloweenie!

So I went out on a limb a little bit.

At work we’re having a Halloween Bag contest. So I decided to *gasp* knit myself one…. without a *double gasp* pattern! Ok well I started with a pattern and then completely deviated from it… With no outside help *triple gasp*

First let me say. This isn’t normal.

Abnormal

Pardon the photo quality. (You try taking a picture of your own lap one handed first thing in the morning thankyaverymuch.) But yes that is me. Cutting my knitting. Sadly I was doing too early in the morning to drink to calm my nerves, although I will admit I was sorely tempted.

But it was worth it. Here it is. The Great albeit misshapen Pumpkin!

Thegreatpumpkin

Modified version of the Sophie bag using double strands of whatever the 100 % wool version of Lion Brand yarn is, it took about 3 skeins. Topped off with a bit of green from a leftover skein that Erin gave to me awhile back then lined with a little piece of fleece I picked up in the clearance bin at WalMart. Special thanks to Cari for the idea of cutting the face out of the pumpkin and lining it with black. Not only does it look good but it was a true test of my will. 🙂 Also thanks to The Boy’s mom for letting me take over the washer Monday night.

While frantically trying to find the supplies to knit this EARLY Saturday morning before work I realized that I own a pair of Addis. Color me surprised (at first I thought I borrowed them from Erin and never gave them back but then I actually remembered purchasing these… and never using them). I have to say I might love them. Typically I’m a 100% bamboo girl but I might need to pick up another Addi or two. Now that I’ve been bit once again by the knitting bug… Hmmm… What shall I knit next?

Now I have to go find an all black work appropriate outfit. It is Halloween afterall (and I can’t wear a costume to work). Have a great one! Don’t eat too much candy!

Updated:I didn’t win the contest… Didn’t even place in the top five. Oh well, you win some, you lose some right?

7 Comments

  1. Laurie / Oct 31 2007 8:53 AM

    The bag is great! The shape is perfect. “quadruple gasp!” And if you don’t win the contest I’ll be stunned.

  2. Becky in Iowa :O) / Oct 31 2007 10:04 AM

    Love the pumpkin. It is so cool!

  3. Carol / Oct 31 2007 8:00 PM

    I would have awarded the blue ribbon, it’s great! Maybe the judges don’t appreciate the work that goes into designing and knittig your own! It’s really a “Great Pumpkin”! Happy Halloween!

  4. Suz / Nov 1 2007 2:22 PM

    Totally cool bag!

  5. wendy / Nov 3 2007 10:19 AM

    Not win? Impossible….that’s a great bag!

  6. Cari / Nov 4 2007 10:01 PM

    love it, carma. hope you are having a good one. and i hope that since it was too early to have a drink WHILE cutting your knitting that you DEFINITELY had a drink later. 😉

  7. erin / Nov 6 2007 12:58 PM

    You were cheated! The bag is awesome! I love it! I’m so proud of you! I need to add more exclamation points!!!!!!

Comments are closed.

