Skip to content
September 28, 2008 / erin

a quickie

I’ve had a post somewhat ready forever now but it’s not quite ready to be sent out there for public viewing yet.

 

I am, however, hoping to get some help from the public.

A couple weeks ago my mom’s best friend was diagnosed with breast cancer. Her treatment will consist of chemotherapy and radiation before surgery. This treatment starts tomorrow. Her daughter is also a knitter and I am pretty sure that she is knitting her some chemo caps. (I have no idea how many of those one needs…)

I also want to knit her something… I would like it to be meaningful BUT I’m limited by knitting ability and time (if the treatment starts tomorrow I would like to have something out to her in the next couple weeks).

I do have a couple late nights at work this week and I work all day next Saturday… The only time I can knit at work.

If anyone has any suggestions regarding patterns or where to look for patterns I would love to hear them.

Thanks!

5 Comments

  1. Teena in Toronto / Sep 30 2008 9:45 AM

    I’m sorry about your mom’s friend.
    Happy blogoversary.

  2. wordnerd / Sep 30 2008 9:53 AM

    You are a good friend. Sorry to hear your bad news. I’m not a knitter, but I’m sending a link to a friend who is.
    HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY!

  3. erin / Sep 30 2008 9:54 AM

    uh, I have a clapotis to make, we could make it together.

  4. Kate / Sep 30 2008 1:42 PM

    WDuly sent by Wordnerd.
    My personal favorites for chemo caps (most people seem to want about 3, so that they’ve always got a clean one on-hand without having to do laundry every day – some like as many as they can get) and a few other breast-cancer-related projects are from knitty.com, here:
    http://knitty.com/ISSUEfall04/PATTsurpriseintro.html (click on any of the sites for the .pdf)
    Hope that helps…

  5. Laurie (Moo!) / Oct 6 2008 10:30 AM

    I’m so sorry about your Mom’s friend and hope that treatment kicks that cancer’s butt!
    I second Erin’s idea for a Clapotis. It doesn’t have to be really big but something to cover the shoulders would be nice.

Comments are closed.

