Skip to content
November 7, 2008 / erin

November = New beginnings.

I know, I've been away. Things were getting a bit difficult for me this school year.  Jess started at a new school not too long ago and it's a much better fit. She has issues, but she will excel in her new class. It became very apparent this school year, that things were just not going to work.

Before starting her new school, Jess was tested  to determine exactly where she was acedemically. Her results were all over the map, but most were above her current grade level. So, when all was said and done, it was determined that my first grader is reading on a fourth grade level, spelling at a fifth, performing mental math computaion at a fifth grade level, and when it was all averaged to make her a 2.6 grader. Her new school is adjusting her curriculum to teach her at her ability level instead of her class year.
DSC04292

Ok, enough braggin'.

DSC04288

 We have our wood stove working. Remember all those downed trees from January? Yeah, we're going to be toasty warm.

More good news.  We've sold the Valpo house. (finally) We are just waiting for a closing date at this point.  I cannot wait.  It means that we will no longer be spending a quarter of Nate's paychecks on a house we don't even use. Maybe we'll be able to get internet? (along with about twenty other things that we've been doing without. Maybe no more trips to the laundromat.)

I started my Christmas crafting when  school started and I'm proud to say that I have 3/4 of my list complete. Wanna see?

DSC04290

That mess is Christmas-in-progress. It's also the place keeper for our Christmas tree.

I'm feeling so much better that I made myself a little something from my stash.

DSC04289

 Pattern: my own.

Yarn: Arucania Nature Wool, worsted.

May this be the start of more posts for me.

6 Comments

  1. Chris / Nov 7 2008 2:37 PM

    Glad to see a post. Jess is looking great! Off to get puppy today. Can’t wait!

  2. Lesa / Nov 7 2008 4:52 PM

    Yay! You sold the house. The stove looks so warm and cozy. I would love to have one. I always knew Jess was a smart little girl.

  3. Laurie (Moo!) / Nov 9 2008 11:18 AM

    Go get ’em, Jess!
    Hooray for selling the house! Glad you made something for yourself. 🙂

  4. Kayt / Nov 10 2008 9:39 AM

    Wow so many yippies i don’t even knwo where to start. I am glad to see Jess and the school are adjusting to each other well.. and as always I am amazed by your christmas ambition.

  5. Tiny Tyrant / Nov 17 2008 9:35 PM

    Um stats on the pattern. Love those.
    What a smart girl! And that is the best way to use felled trees.

  6. Carol / Dec 29 2008 10:35 AM

    She’s a smart one for sure! She was probably bored out of her mind! so important for her to have the right curriculum~get em Jess! I’m really happy for you on the home front~ 😀

Comments are closed.

