Skip to content
February 13, 2009 / erin

Trying

Ok, where to begin…

I had a nice birthday. Jess was upset when she realized I did not have a birthday cake. So, while I was out running some errands, she did this.
DSC04376

She got out her easy-bake oven and made me a birthday cake.  How sweet is that?

The Braille challenge was fun. Jess was overwhelmed at the beginning of the testing, and completely broke down. Sometimes she has trouble adjusting to new situations. She ended up doing maybe half of the test, and did surprisingly well. Most importantly, after she calmed down, she had a lot of fun.
DSC04388

Sickness and weather has helped me consistently ignore my blog. My apologies.

Now some knitting.
DSC04380

Yarn: Rowan Pure wool 4 ply
Pattern: Mushroom pulse warmers over at Hello Yarn
Note: I used a larger needle that recommended, and I knit both at the same time in one big round.

DSC04378

Yarn: Cascade Eco wool
Pattern: Sideways Grande Cloche in Boutique Knits
Notes: This hat is far too tall for my head. It's going to be a gift.

DSC04397

Yarn: Wool-ease
Pattern: None.  Inspired by two baby sweaters.
Notes: Mara's birthday gift. Now I just need to send it.

Now a pretty snow shot of the house.
DSC04386

5 Comments

  1. Lesa / Feb 13 2009 1:35 PM

    Wow, is Jess ever getting big!
    Sometime I’ll have to tell you about student teaching from hell. Seriously, the classroom teacher was Hitler.
    IUSB is giving me a break before finding a new teacher for me.

  2. Nell / Feb 13 2009 1:47 PM

    Pretty house picture. It almost makes me miss the snow.

  3. Laurie (Moo!) / Feb 13 2009 5:04 PM

    Happy Belated Birthday! An easy bake cake is still a cake. LOL. Nice going, Jess. 🙂
    Love the pulse warmers. Is that snow gone yet?

  4. Carma / Feb 13 2009 9:13 PM

    Did I ever tell you that my brother, Craig, BEGGED (repeatedly) for an Easy Bake Oven when he was growing up? He is going to be so jealous that Jess has one. 🙂
    OK Your house looks so much better covered in snow than all the crap here in Iowa.
    Now I’m jealous…

  5. wendy / Mar 5 2009 9:43 AM

    So sweet!
    I bet that was the best Birthday cake you’ve ever ate, huh?lol
    I’m glad you’re doing well.

Comments are closed.

