Skip to content
April 30, 2013 / erin

Another One

So, I know there are dozens of stories like mine out there, but please, just let me tell you mine.

I’ve been wanting to get James one of those “puddle jumper” floatations jacket/ water wing things for the pool. We were at Walmart and happened upon a display, so I told the little guy to pick one out.
• Green with a frog face
• Green with a monkey face
• Purple with a koala face
• Red with a ladybug face

Why they had faces, I don’t know. I found them a little disturbing. Anyway, James chose this one.

20130430-075517.jpg

He was quite happy with this decision, so we preceded to checkout. When James put his purchase on the belt, I got a sharp look from the cashier.

I replied with,”That’s the one he wants.” Meanwhile, an excited 2 year old boy beams with pride at his selection, and tries to wait patiently for the cashier to return his prize to him. The lady behind me scoffs.

The cashier rings up the purple puddle jumper and begins to stuff it in the bag. At this point I stop her and tell her that he would really like to carry it out.

“Are you sure you want to let him?” Was her response.

“Yes, of course I do. Why wouldn’t I?”

It upsets me that someone would judge a two year old by the color/character he chose to wear. How can we be so rude to each other over a simple color choice? It’s maddening.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. chrisknits / Apr 30 2013 10:26 AM

    I am not sure I understand the problem. It’s purple? Boys are not supposed to like purple? Since when? Geesh! They need to get a life.

  2. Carma / Apr 30 2013 7:42 PM

    I have never understood the correlation between color & gender. Or toys and gender.

    And when you think about it koala’s aren’t exactly warm & cuddly (so called “feminine” traits).

    Well I for one love James’ choice & am glad he has no idea what those cranky ladies were going on about.

Leave a Reply

