Skip to content
January 17, 2014 / carma

Kick It!

In two months I will officially have lived in Iowa for 12 years. In those 12 years I have gained probably around 45 pounds (insert Iowa corn-fed jokes here). I’ll be honest, when I moved out here, mostly due to some health issues just prior to moving, I was very light (read: NOT healthy in the slightest, down right sickly in fact). As I’ve aged I’ve become much more sedentary – I blame being a grown-up and I think we should all revolt!

Anyway the forces of the universe have finally gotten through to me and I realize that health, weight, and that whole shebang is like politics… you can’t bitch unless you at least attempt to do something about it (exercise or vote).

Right around the time I was having this little personal revelation a friend of mine asked me if I wanted to take a kickboxing class with her…. What the hell… It’s 4 nights a week for 6 weeks. I can handle anything for 6 weeks (except a Siberian prison, as my kickboxing partner, Marta, likes to point out).

So remember when I said I wasn’t healthy? Extreme lack of exercise was a big part of that. And by lack I mean my couch and I were nearly as good of friends as Erin and I. Oh yeah, my yen for the Whopper combo certainly didn’t help things either.

I’m not trying to go all hog wild and realize that 6 weeks doesn’t make up for decades of mistreating my body (my “temple”, so some say) but I am trying to be more aware of what I’m putting into my body. Which means I broke up with McDonalds – the longest relationship I’ve ever had. This way when the class is over I’ll hopefully have the best possible idea of whether or not it was worth it.

Because right now I’m not 100% sure – not totally discouraged though because my ass (and the rest of me) is still showing up everyday. Showing up to get the snot beat out of it no less.

But, hey, the first day I might have made it through 3 push ups before faceplanting on the floor… Yesterday I did 20 in one fell swoop, another 20 in other round, and a final 13 the last time around. Granted they are “girl” pushups but my knees aren’t as slippery as my feet and the important thing is I was doing them… and doing them without my ass in the air.

“Please don’t ask me if I’m ‘Sweatin for the Weddin’” because if you do, trust, I will not be responsible for my actions

Leave a Reply

